KodiTips Forums

Newbie here

Dvan

• +0/-0
    • View Profile
Newbie here
« on: July 28, 2017, 10:00:35 am »
I'm new to this type of device configuration! Is there a beginners section as to how to build your own device with protection (VPN)? I've been reading all week and am very confused whether to build or just buy a preinstalled device! I talked with an aquantenance the other day and they talked about making sure you have a VPN for the device. He uses BlackNight, but I cannot find anything other than a blacknight Asus Router! I'm very confused, but eager to learn how to make my own device with just simple Kodi and YouTube! Thanks for any help and it's appreciated!

TonyH

• +22/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2017, 10:09:18 am »
What kind of device are you planning on installing kodi to? Computer, android box, fire stick, etc

Dvan

• +0/-0
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2017, 10:12:26 am »
Amazon Firestick with Alexa! I'm so tired of getting mixed information and I found this forum and am in hopes I can do this myself, with an expert in this forum!

TonyH

• +22/-3
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2017, 10:29:51 am »
Start here, this is a basic video of how to install kodi on your firestick.

After you get it installed post your results here and we can help you further.

Dvan

• +0/-0
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2017, 10:31:42 am »
Thanks so much!  :)

ttown

« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2017, 11:44:15 am »
Amazon Firestick with Alexa! I'm so tired of getting mixed information and I found this forum and am in hopes I can do this myself, with an expert in this forum!

you'd get better results with the firebox (2GB RAM) and SPMC (Kodi fork) which has voice recognition thatll work with the voice remote

hatrix

• +16/-0
  • I'm the captain now.
    • View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2017, 12:10:19 pm »