KodiTips Forums

Upgrading Kodi

troyellis001

• +0/-0
    • View Profile
Upgrading Kodi
« on: October 06, 2017, 09:43:05 am »
Hello All, A newbie here and need your help please. Got a new Android box which has Kodi 16.1 and would like to upgrade to 17. Having trouble doing that via Google Play since the remote will not take me right up to My Apps. Right now I dont have a keyboard or wireless mouse. What are my options, please?

TonyH

• +35/-3
  • You have a 50-50 chance if you follow my advice 😂
    • View Profile
Re: Upgrading Kodi
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2017, 10:39:14 am »
Here is one way to do it, the video says it's for fire stick but he just uses the downloader app so it will work the same way. Someone else may have a better way also.

sarah

• +10/-8
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2017, 11:18:04 am »
This shows how to update from 17 to 17.4 but is there one showing the most common update from 16.1 to 17.4 please?

hatrix

• +25/-0
  • I'm the captain now.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2017, 11:39:09 am »
It should be the same Sara. Either get it from play store or direct from kodi site. If on Amazon device, use the downloader app.

TonyH

• +35/-3
  • You have a 50-50 chance if you follow my advice 😂
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2017, 11:40:34 am »
This shows how to update from 17 to 17.4 but is there one showing the most common update from 16.1 to 17.4 please?

As far as I know it should work from 16.1 to 17.4 because you are downloading the entire file, not just an update. All of your settings will be lost though and you will be starting with a blank fresh copy of krypton 17.4

Buzz Marshall

• +29/-2
  • Puff, Puff, Pass
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2017, 01:04:45 pm »
updating should be should be the same...

If your the comfortable without using the play store to install i would suggest you grab it from Kodi's site as your guaranteed to get the right version...